Untimely Reviews – Doom

Some movies are best watched with my wife and others are best watched after my wife goes to bed. Movies based on video games fall into the latter category. The only worse sin would be making my wife watch as I play video games. I relish shudder at the thought of such villainy.

Doom-boxartDoom_ingame_1Doom_ingame_2


In 1993, "Doom" the computer game was a watershed event in the world of gaming. It was in 3D (sort of), had pulse pounding action (my pulse literally pounded at times), and the ability to challenge friends to death matches. There had been nothing like it before. "Doom" changed the world.

In 2005 the makers of "Doom" released a movie. Though intrigued, I was too busy to see it. I was really looking forward to the promised 1st person shooter style movie. Plus the movie starred The Rock. Over a year later, I was glad that I saved my $10. "Doom" is a little lame.

The best part of "Doom", the scene I most anticipated, a sequence that was heralded by standing ovations, was lame. In the game you trounce around a space station filled with toxic waste, zombies, and demons. Evil hoards fling themselves at you and you have to fight them off with various weapons and strafing keys. I anticipated that the movie sequence would be something like the game, with strafing, execution of demon hoards with a chain gun, and abuse of the BFG-9000. Instead I was undazzled with what appeared to be a spooky amusement park ride: zombie scientists cackling as they pop out of nowhere and die in humorous fashions. This was sort of a waste because  I really liked the idea that I, an audience member, could see the action through the protagonists eyes, as I would in the game. Worse, the prior 100 minutes are seemed to be there to kill time until the first person shooter scene. The Rock deserves better.

The movie did awaken my long lost feelings about "Doom" the game. When the game came out, I had an aging 386/16 when the game required at least a 386/30. I could barely play the game in the tiniest of windows. Cursed with outdated technology, I mostly played "Doom" on my friends computers. Now I thought it would be fun to play it on my now aged Pentium 4/1.4GHz. No dice. It just won't run and I have forgotten most of the DOS commands.

Huzaa to"Doom", the game.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Untimely Reviews – Doom

  1. artdavis February 5, 2007 at 8:30 am Reply

    Check out Doomsday to run the old Doom based games on newer machines (you even get swank graphics updates): http://www.doomsdayhq.com/I have to admit to going to see the Doom movie in theaters… on opening night no less. I was wise enough to realize that it was going to be awful so we prepared ourselves with liberal application of spirits; it was still awful.–Art

  2. bioadam February 5, 2007 at 11:16 pm Reply

    Art, Thanks a million. I've been neglecting my family all night while I run through mazes and blast zombies. And I've also been playing Doom thanks to your excellent tip!—Adam

Leave a Reply

