Personal Stories – Beach Vacation

Summer in Iowa is hot, humid, and lacking of oceans. When my brother-in-law invited us to his beach house rental, my wife and I said yes first, booked our flight second, and then checked our calendars. When opportunity knocks, make room to open the door. The picture at the right is a fair use image from Microsoft's satellite mapping program. Look closely and you can almost see the invasion of privacy. I have marked the "beach" house and route to the beach in red.

We stayed near San Diego, subject of the very funny movie "Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy". We watched the movie while on vacation: a timely untimely viewing. To my surprise and edification, the temperature in San Diego is an ultra-mild 65 to 75 degrees Fahrenheit, a.k.a. room temperature. Plus, the coast was virtually bug free. It was awesome.

We visited the beach everyday. Back home, I can still smell the ocean. At first little man feared the waves. He would run from them. I would take him up to the water, point at an oncoming wave, and the look back to watch him running away from me. After a few days of this, he magically decided that waves were harmless and fun. Then when I would turn around, he was waist deep in the water and slowly running into the ocean. He had an awesome time.

Apparently, San Diego is full of touristy stuff. There is a whole park, Balboa Park, filled with a great zoo and other stuff we didn't visit. What a great honor to that guy from "Rocky". We also went to Birch Aquarium and after enough begging, my wife agreed to take me and little man to an aircraft carrier, which was awesome. All the touristy stuff was so close, we used only one tank of gas, which is great considering gas in California costs like $1000 per gallon.

My brother-in-law and his family were also fun to hang with. He and his wife have a 6 year old and a 3 year old. They say the funniest things and our little man really got a kick out playing with them. My brother-in-law showed me how to use a body board and I caught a few awesome waves. It was also nice to have another mom around to help watch little man.

The whole trip was worth the numbing 1a.m. to 4a.m. drive back from the airport. With the good vacations, the regret is always the same: I wish I had taken more time off. Awesome pictures to come.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

