Rants: Save the world with blackness

While setting up my Ubuntu Linux desktop, I noted a plethora of dark desktop themes, as in white text on a black background. It's not only old school, it serves some very good purposes. Let me count the ways:

1. White on black is easier on the eyes.
2. Dark desktops are easier to see at night and wont' ruin your night vision.
3. Dark desktops might use less energy than bright desktops.
rainbows.
4. Black is different and totally non-conformist until everyone starts doing it. Then we will start using a rainbook look, then denim, and back to white.

For my part, I have adjusted my iGoogle screen and this blog to embrace the darkness. I suppose I could use blackle for even more possible earth saving awesomeness. On my own desktop, I chose  the Mac-like grey on grey over the darker themes. I could not find a useable black theme. Sometimes menu items were whited out and other times text boxes were entirely black. So is the way of aesthetic progress.

Let me know what you think of this bold new look.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Tagged:

One thought on “Rants: Save the world with blackness

  1. bioadam June 15, 2008 at 9:39 pm Reply

    Black and white was too hard on my eyes. So now I'm only saving the world half as much and acting half as cool.

Leave a Reply

